Prior Conferences

2015 Pretoria


The 2015 Annual Conference of The Network: TUFH was held in Pretoria, South Africa from September 12-16. The host was the University of Pretoria

2014 Fortaleza, Brazil

 2014 Fortaleza Front ex_trib

Conference date

November 19-23, 2014

The Fortaleza Flyers and Declarations

2013 Ayutthaya, Thailand

2012 Thunder Bay, Canada

The Rendez-Vous 2012 in Thunder Bay, Northern Ontario, Canada was a great success! Over 800 participants from around the world came together and shared their ideas, projects and great work and left everying inspired.

All keynote presentations during the conference are available here.

Below you can also find the Thunder Bay declaration, a joint communique from all organizing partners involved. Enjoy your reading!

TB Communique.pdf

2011 Graz, Austria


In September 2011, The Network: TUFH conference was organized in Graz, Austria, with Medical University Graz and the Styrian Academy of Family Practice as co-host. Below you can find some interesting conference materials and the general evaluation of this conference.

Here you can watch a short movie with some highlights of the conference. Enjoy this movie!
PDF Files from Conference


2010 Kathmandu, Nepal


In November 2010, the Network: TUFH headed towards Kathmandu, Nepal. Together with our local host BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences and Kathmandu University, we welcomed more than 200 participants from all over the world.

Inspired by the keynote session of Jeanne Devos, who works in the slums of Mumbai, the Kathmandu Call for Action was written and published. With this Call, The Network: TUFH wants to activate policy makers around the world to improve the working and living conditions of domestic workers around the world.

Below, you will find a complete list of all of the past conferences held by The Network: TUFH:

  • 1979 Kingston, Jamaica
  • 1981 Bellagio, Italy
  • 1983 Havana, Cuba
  • 1984 Maastricht, the Netherlands
  • 1985 Ismailia, Egypt
  • 1987 Pattaya, Thailand
  • 1989 Kerkrade, the Netherlands
  • 1990 Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
  • 1991 Ilorin, Nigeria
  • 1993 Penang, Malaysia
  • 1994 Sherbrooke, Canada
  • 1995 Madras, India
  • 1995 Manila, the Philippines
  • 1996 Durban, Republic of South Africa
  • 1997 Mexico City, Mexico
  • 1998 Albuquerque, NM, USA
  • 1999 Linköping, Sweden
  • 2000 Manama, Bahrain
  • 2001 Londrina, Brazil
  • 2002 Eldoret, Kenya
  • 2003 Newcastle, Australia
  • 2004 Atlanta, GA, USA
  • 2005 Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • 2006 Ghent, Belgium
  • 2007 Kampala, Uganda
  • 2008 Chia-Bogota, Colombia
  • 2010  Kathmandu, Nepal
  • 2011 Graz, Austria
  • 2012 Thunder Bay, Canada
  • 2013 Ayutthaya, Thailand
  • 2014 Fortaleza, Brazil
  • 2015 Pretoria, South Africa